During a special ceremony organised by TopVolley Belgium and Het Laatste Nieuws on Monday, Celine Van Gestel (Asterix Avo BEVEREN) and Hendrik Tuerlinckx (Knack ROESELARE) received the awards for Belgium’s ‘Players of the Year’. Both Van Gestel and Tuerlinckx won the Belgian Cup in February and they both are contesting the playoffs for the national championship crown as well. It is Van Gestel’s first time to win this prestigious title, while Tuerlinckx is now a four-time recipient and on top of this, it is his second such award in a row.

Van Gestel received the award for the MVP of the seas

soon as well, based on votes cast by the coaches after every game. In the men’s league, the award went to the Canadian-Polish opposite of Axis Guibertin, Robert Wojcik. The rookies of the year were Silke Van Avermaet (Asterix Avo BEVEREN) and Mathieu Vanneste (Volley Haasrode LEUVEN).

Asterix Avo BEVEREN swept all women’s trophies since their mentor Gert Vande Broek received the award for the best women’s coach. Noliko MAASEIK’s Joel Banks was voted best men’s coach. Marie-Catherine Boulanger received the distinction for the best referee and two Belgian players currently performing in Poland, Kaja Grobelna and Sam Deroo, are the recipients of the awards for the best ‘Yellow Tiger’ and ‘Red Dragon’, respectively.

photo source:cev.lu